Adding global permissions to a user

Axigen Outlook Connector Manual

Add / select the user(s) with permission rights

To add a user to the list, click the "Add" button. In the new window click the "Select user" button to open the address book and choose a contact

When clicking the "Select user" button, a warning will pop-up asking you to allow access to the email addresses stored in Outlook, check the "Allow access for" option, choose the desired time interval from the drop-down menu and click "Yes".

Select the permission level

In the "Permissions" tab you can allow or deny the previously selected user/group, to read your free/busy status or send emails in your name.

Below the mentioned options, you can set the mailbox permissions. The sharing access level you set in this section, will apply for all your mailbox content.

To set the permission level for the selected user/group, there are 6 levels to choose from:

  • No access – all permissions are denied;
  • Viewer – view and read folder is allowed;
  • Contributor – view, read folder and add items is allowed;
  • Editor – view, read folder, set/clear flags, add items, mark items as deleted/not deleted and expunge is allowed;
  • Master – all permissions are allowed;
  • Custom – each permission is defined individually according to your needs;

When selecting one of the predefined levels, the corresponding permission's "Allow" check-box will be automatically marked.

The Viewer level will enable the "Read items" permission, which allows a user to view and read the mailbox content. You can see the "Read items" sub-permissions by clicking the "Details" button.

The Contributor level will enable the "Read items" and "Add items" permissions.

The "Add items" permission will allow the user to create new, move or copy items.

Both "add items" and "delete items" permissions are required for modifying items.

When setting the "Editor" level, the "Read items", "Add items", "Set/clear flags" and "Delete items" permissions will be enabled.

Besides the actions corresponding to the "Read items" and "Add items" permissions, which are described above, the user will be able to modify flags other than read / unread and deleted / not deleted (does not apply for contacts, calendar, tasks, journal and notes folders) which corresponds to the "Set/clear flags" permission. Also the "Delete items" permission allows the user to mark items as deleted / not deleted and permanently delete (expunge) the content from any of your mailbox folders. Use the "Details" button to see the "Delete items" sub-permissions.

The Master level means the selected user / group is allowed to view and read the folder content, add items, set / clear flags, mark items as deleted / not deleted, expunge folder content, share the read / unread status for items, add sub-folders, delete folders and manage sharing permissions.

Check the effective permissions

In the "Effective Permissions" tab you will be able to see what permissions are specifically allowed or not. Note that for the effective permissions to reflect any current changes you make, you must first save the permission settings modifications and then re-open the folder permissions and check the "Effective Permissions" tab for the relevant details.