- Security Layers
- Services Architecture
- Integrating with Other Solutions
- Clustered Operations
- Administration Tools Overview
- Solution Overview
The Axigen messaging solution implements groupware services allowing network users to interact and work together by sharing folders, emails, calendars, tasks etc. Complex permission hierarchies can be created to meet the specific collaboration and sharing needs of any organization.
Personal Organizer and Axigen Outlook Connector
Having time management and mobility needs in mind, a Personal Organizer module is available. This comprises tools such as calendar, tasks, journal, notes and collaborative support.
Aiming to adapt to all requirements generated by a competitive business environment, the permission granting structure enables users to delegate email sending tasks to their team members and view the free / busy status to avoid assigning events when a team member is already taking part in a different one.
The Axigen Outlook Connector enhances the communication of Microsoft's email client with the Axigen server, thus making the Personal Organizer available for Outlook users to take full advantage of all Axigen's features and capabilities.
Axigen Outlook Connector implements most Exchange-like features including server-side Search Folders (such as Unread messages or Large Messages) which enables users to easily locate messages based on various filters. The new application also allows new folders (including special folders) creation on the server directly from Outlook.
Users are allowed to perform operations on folders (view its contents, add items, delete items etc.) if permissions on the respective folder were defined. By default all users have permissions on their own folders and can allow other users to access one or more of their personal folders with different permission levels (read only, read and write etc.). These permissions can be set either from WebMail or Outlook and can be granted to a user or a group of users.
Each time the server needs to determine if a specific action on a specific resource is allowed or denied for a specific administrative user, the following reasoning is used:
- if the permission is set to deny on at least one of the parent folders in the chain, for the user or a group that the user belongs to, the permission will be denied;
- if the permission is not denied on any of parent folders in the chain but allowed on at least one, for the user and/or a group that the user belongs to, the permission will be allowed;
- if the permission is neutral (not set) on all parent folders in the chain, for the user and/or a group that the user belongs to, the permission will be denied.
- Read items - Folder is visible and its contained items can be read;
- View items - Folder appears in hierarchy ("lookup");
- Read folder content - Items in this folder may be read;
- Share the read / unread status - Changes to the read / unread flag are seen by other users (does not apply for contacts, calendar, tasks, journal and notes folders);
- Set / clear flags - Modify flags other than read / unread and deleted / not deleted (does not apply for contacts, calendar, tasks, journal and notes folders);
- Add items - Add new items to folder (create new, move to, copy to). Both "add items" and "delete items" permissions are required for modifying items;
- Add sub-folders - Add new sub-folders below this folder (create new, move to, copy to);
- Delete folder - Delete this folder, including all its contained items;
- Delete items - Delete items in this folder. Both "add items" and "delete items" permissions are required for modifying items;
- Mark items as deleted / not deleted - Modify the deleted / not deleted flag;
- Expunge folder - Purge items marked with the deleted flag;
- Manage permissions - Modify permissions on this folder.
Types of permissions
When new entities are created they can have two types of permissions:
- Implicit permissions do not appear in the permissions list for resources, cannot be modified (they are resolved directly by the MACL engine) and cannot be overridden with an explicit "DENY" from any level (above or below). These are:
- the "postmaster" user has "all rights" on all public folders;
- the "postmaster" user has "Lookup" and "Manage permissions" on all folders of all the accounts in its domain;
- the "postmaster" user has "all rights" on his mailbox (and all sub-folders);
- each user has "all rights" on his/her mailbox (and all sub-folders).
- Default permissions are explicit, modifiable and appear when specific entities are created. They are:
- newly created folder in the PF namespace or in a mailbox other than the creator's, the creator has "all rights", with "apply to sub-folders";
- if the newly created public folder is created from the WebAdmin interface, no explicit permissions are set for it;
- when a new domain is created, the PF root contains the permissions: "all users in domain", "allow", "Lookup", "apply to sub-folders".